My Writing Process Blog Hop

scandalouswager256x400I was asked to take part in the blog hop by historical and mystery author as well as cover designer Christy Carlyle. Her debut novella, Scandalous Wager, a white chapel wagers novella, was released last month.

You can find out more about Christy at her website www.christycarlyle.com and her web design at www.gildedheartdesign.com.

Be sure to pick up a copy of Scandalous Wager at Amazon where it is on sale for 99 cents.

You can see how Christy answered her questions about her writing process last week here: http://romancingthevictorians.blogspot.com/2014/02/my-writing-process-blog-hop.html 

So, here goes. Everything you ever wanted to know about my writing process but didn’t know you wanted to know.

What am I working on at the moment?

I’m currently working on book #2  Twisted Sixteen while I do a little research and plotting for book #3 Wicked Sixteen. Both are a continuation in the A Dodie Jenks Novel series.

How Does My Work Differ From Others of The Genre?

I’m new at young adult. This is my first series. So I guess mine differs in that I’m learning the ropes. Trying to establish my readership and brand with this one.

Why Do I Write What I Do?

Hmmm…I guess because that is what came out when the inspiration for the series hit me. I had a thought and an idea formed and when I started typing my character was soon to be sixteen instead of an adult. Which was uncharted territory for me, but I like watching young adult television programs. I like reading young adult as well. I loved the Twilight series because it drew me in and I had to read every book in the series. I didn’t care if others thought it wasn’t well written. I didn’t care if it was teenage angst. I was hooked on the story. Did I think when I was reading it that one day I too would be writing a young adult series? No.

How Does Your Writing Process Work?

My process probably differs from everyone else. I’m not exactly a plotter or a pantster. I am in between. I do a GMC on my characters and I flesh them out a little, formulating a longer range goal when necessary.  I’ve started a series bible to help keep everything straight when I need to go back and double check things.

I have a beta reader who reads for content and two published authors who read as editors looking for grammar as well as content/word choice errors. I work with a cover artist to design my covers and I do the formatting for ebook and print myself.

And now to the writers who I am inviting to the next stage of the My Writing Process Blog Hop:

Juli Alexander
Like many writers, I was a painfully shy child.  I loved writing but would never have considered sharing my work with anyone.  But I finally joined a writer’s group, survived critique group sessions, and developed thick skin.
This process only took me until I was about thirty.  Yeah, I was pretty dog-gone shy.  Since I started sharing and submitting my work, there have been ups and downs.  My most cherished moments are finaling in the Golden Heart, a prestigious contest held annually by the Romance Writers of America, winning a young adult short story contest, and cheering for my friends as they move from pre-published to published author.
The publishing industry has changed so thoroughly and rapidly in the last two years that writers are running to keep up.
I am a proud member of SCBWI and RWA I work full time, have a rotten commute, am raising a teenage drummer-boy, and have way too many dogs.
I’m sorry, but I don’t have the other two authors. I’m new and everyone I’ve asked is already doing this hop.
